Why We Should Control Our Temper

I am very prone to anger. I have a quick temper. My children probably cause this side of me to come out the most. They really know how to push my buttons. When they do this, I’m not going to lie, many times I overreact. In the past I have said things I shouldn’t have said…I think most of us can agree we’ve done that in a fit of anger. If I were to name my #1 fault that I needed to work on-it would be controlling my temper.

God doesn’t want us to be angry. In fact, if we give in to our nature and allow anger to take over, it can cause us to distance ourselves from God and cause eternal damnation.

When you get angry, what’s the first thing that happens? If you’re anything like me, you say, do, or think something mean and hurtful that is completely unnecessary.

The Bible says that “the tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit” (Proverbs 18:21). So by being mean and saying hurtful things, even if just in a moment of anger, we can speak words of life and death. We can hurt someone physically, mentally, and spiritually. So why not control our tempers, our attitudes, and therefore, our words so that every word that is spoken from our lips is edifying to others and not harmful. Everything we say and do should glorify God.

Lord, I pray that you help me get rid of all of the anger in my life. Help me to learn to look to you in moments when I feel angered and give me a peaceful spirit that allows me to remain calm and go about the situation in a way that glorifies You.

Things to Remember:
“Be kind to unkind people-they need it the most.” -Anonymous
“Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.” -Unknown
“The one that angers you controls you. Don’t give anyone that power-especially the one who does it intentionally.” -Anonymous
“Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else-you are the one who gets burned.”-Buddhist Principle

James 1:19-20

“My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,  for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”

Proverbs 29:11

“A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.”

Psalm 37:8-9

“Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret–it leads only to evil.  For evil men will be cut off, but those who hope in the LORD will inherit the land.”

Colossians 3:8

“But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.”
Leave a Reply

