Music Monday-“Jesus Loves Me” by Chris Tomlin

This song is newer in my music library, but I absolutely love it. I feel like it just speaks to my soul. Is that a weird thing to say? lol. As someone who was raised in a Christian household, I accepted Christ at the age of 7 and was a “devout Christian” through early adulthood. I got married at the age of 17 and I put my new husband before God. In fact, we slowly began skipping church, doing things we shouldn’t have been doing, and before I even realized it, I had slipped away from God. When my marriage dissolved 6 years later, I realized what I needed most of all in my life, and in the lives of my children, was a relationship with God. Since that point, I have been striving to get back to Him. Am I perfect? Not by a long shot. Do I still mess up? Multiple times per day. But I’m trying which is more than I can say for myself a few years ago. I’m still not to the place I was when I was a teenager. I felt such a passion for God and couldn’t wait to get back in the church-in fact, I was there Sunday morning, Monday night, Wednesday night, and Friday night. I was in every club or group I could be in that would get me spiritually fed and I strive to find that fire inside me again (but that’s a whole different post in itself).

The lyrics to this beautiful song are listed below, as well as a link to view the music video:

“I was lost
I was in chains
The world had a hold of me

My heart was a stone
I was covered in shame
When He came for me

I couldn’t run, couldn’t run from His presence
I couldn’t run, couldn’t run from His arms

Jesus, He loves me, He loves me, He is for me
Jesus, how can it be, He loves me, He is for me

And it was a fire
Deep in my soul
I’ll never be the same

I stepped out of the dark
And into the light
When He called my name

I couldn’t run, couldn’t run from His presence
I couldn’t run, couldn’t run from His arms

He holds the stars and He holds my heart
With healing hands that bear the scars
The rugged cross where He died for me
My only hope, my everything”

Watch a video of this song being performed here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YM0FxrcYo0o

I hope this song blesses you today and touches you like it touches me. I know Jesus does love me and is for me in every situation and even when I turned my back on Him and ignored Him for years-on-end, He was watching over me and waiting and when I turned back to Him and strived to be in His presence, He welcomed me with open arms. What a blessing that is!

Leave a Reply

