God Sees All and Has a Different Perspective on Our Lives

God Sees All and Has a Different Perspective than we have on earth

We, as a people, have a tendency to blame God when things go wrong or ONLY pick up our Bibles and pray continuously in times of trouble and many do so because they feel that when things are going badly in their lives, God is punishing them.

I struggled with this. I am guilty of thinking like this. I was headed down a bad road and doing a lot of things I shouldn’t have been doing, but when my daughter got sick, I prayed and begged and pleaded with God. I was angry with Him for letting her go through this. I begged Him to make her better and to “punish” me instead. What I didn’t comprehend was God’s plan for our lives. And of course, I still don’t know His plan for our lives, but I know He has one and I know everything He puts us through is for a reason.

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; Ecclesiastes 3:1-22

I still don’t claim to have all of the answers. I still mess up (many times a day, in fact) and still question God at times when I know I shouldn’t. I know God has a plan that’s beyond anything any of us can fathom with our teeny human brains, but still, I sometimes wonder “why me?” or “why us?”

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

My preacher, Pastor Derek Berry, spoke a little on this very topic last Sunday. He said we tend to think of things in peaks and valleys. From the peaks (high points in our lives) we can see what we perceive as everything and think we know how things are going to turn out. Then we dip down into a valley and can’t see anything around us. We feel as though we are sinking, but what we can’t see is the high ground that’s coming if we just keep walking through it a little bit longer.

God has a heavenly view of our lives. He has our entire lives mapped out for us. He can see all the way from the beginning to the end. He sees the peeks and the valleys. It is how we act when we face all the different challenges in our lives that will determine whether we draw nearer to God or push Him away.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11

The Webster’s Dictionary defines perspective as “understanding something because you see things from a larger frame of reference.” God has the ability to do that. He perceives how different choices in our lives are related and sees the importance they make to our journey.

By accepting that God knows what is best for our lives because He sees it all, we are able to fully put our trust in Him and know that whatever happens in our lives, it happens to glorify Him.

By understanding God’s perspective on our lives, we are able to face trials and heartaches because we know something good is going to come of it. We know God never leaves us or forsakes us and we know that “If God be for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31).

James 1:12 says “Blessed is the man that endures temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord has promised to them that love him.”

We also have the promise: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

earth

 

Leave a Reply

