Turn #SelfieSunday into #SelflessSunday

In our society, selfies are becoming an epidemic. And most of us are guilty of it…I know I am. [Follow me on Instagram to see photos of me and my kids: http://instagram.com/bellaynolynsmomma%5D

selfie collage

A new trending hashtag has been sweeping our Sundays and it is #selfiesunday. [For those of you who don’t know what a hashtag or # is, it is a way of searching different topics or “tags” as they’re called on social media (i.e. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.). For example, if you search #isabellavsleukemia, you will see every post associated with my daughter and her fight against Leukemia].

I, too, am really bad about taking selfies. I always tend to look better when I take the photo myself (it probably has something to do with the fact that I take 79895651654 photos until I find one that looks just right-haha).

Of all days to “selfie” though, Sunday is probably the worst. Remember that quote from the Bible that many apparently tend to ignore “Honor the Sabbath day and keep it holy” (Exodus 20:8). One way to honor the Sabbath is to spend it honoring God and diving into His word. Another way is to glorify God through your words and works.

I encourage you this week to have a self-less Sunday (maybe #SelflessSunday will take off). Spend your Sunday sharing God with others. Buy some food or clothes for someone less fortunate than you. Volunteer your time at a women’s shelter or soup kitchen. Do something to benefit others and show Christ’s love today.

Philippians 2:4 Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

Luke 6:35 But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return, and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for he is kind to the ungrateful and the evil.”

John 15:12-14 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you.”

Proverbs 19:17 “Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will repay him for his deed.”

#SelflessSunday

Leave a Reply

