Where is God when I’m Scared?

To come up with my topic for today, I googled, “Where is God when I’m…” and “scared” was the first response.

As a mother, I hear the “I’m scared” excuse WAY more than it should ever be uttered. And sometimes with kids, it’s hard to tell if they truly are scared or if they use being scared as a crutch because they know that you, as their parent, don’t want to force them to do anything that scares them. I feel like my kids are more scared of things than other kids their age (I have no proof of this or any comparisons to hold them against, but I don’t remember being scared of everything like they are when I was a kid). When I was a child, I was afraid of “normal” things like snakes, spiders, and heights. Even now, I feel my fears are justified: terrorists, child molesters, rapists, and the forever-fears of snakes, spiders, and heights. My children, on the other hand, are afraid of dust bunnies, thunder, the dark, sleeping alone in their rooms, rats, taking a shower rather than a bath, splinters, creepy dolls, loud noises, etc. (all of these just came from my daughter when I asked her and she seriously freaks out over these things). It’s crazy to me! Do any fellow parents have this issue?

Anyway, back to topic, my children are always living in a world of fear (in their eyes).

Deutoronomy 31:6 says “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

This is the promise I reassure my kids of when they are scared. Sometimes I reassure myself of this verse…not necessarily when I’m scared of something, but in many situations in life. When my 7-year-old daughter, Bella, was in a coma earlier this year because of her weakened immune system (from her Leukemia), there were several times we didn’t think she was going to make it. The doctors had sent in the chaplains to speak with me to prepare myself. I listened to them, and did prepare myself (as best I could anyway-no one could ever fully prepare themselves for the loss of a child). Through it all, I prayed over Bella A LOT and kept remembering that God was with us. We just had to stay strong. I know a LOT of people were praying for her from all over the world (via her Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/isabellavsleukemia) and God heard our prayers.

Psalm 56:3-4 “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?”

If we just remember these verses and know that God is with us wherever we go, it would change our outlook on life. Think about it, The Lord, God Almighty is walking beside you every day in every place that you go. How awesome is that?!

Many of the courageous men and women in the Bible were, I’m sure, scared. Daniel was in a den with lions. Esther went to the king without being called upon. Jonah was swallowed by a whale. But you know what?! God never left any of them. And He will never leave you.

So where is He when you’re scared?
He’s right there with you. He’s holding your hand. He’s hurting with you. He’s loving you. He’s protecting you. He’s holding you. God will never leave you.

Leave a Reply

